top of page

Hello December + Advent Season

From the very beginning of human existence, Jesus was going to be apart of the story. -Advent: The Journey To Christmas

Christmas time is here and how exciting it is to decorate the house, put up the Christmas tree. Shopping on Black Friday for family and friends. There were some pretty great deals. Oh, don't forget we have to take Christmas pictures in order to mail out our holiday cards. We must invite our friends over for the Christmas party. Are we doing "Ugly Sweater" or "Onesie" party? Don't forget we have a lot to do for this Christmas holiday season.


But, wait, aren't we forgetting something? We get so caught up on all the things we should be doing to make everyone happy in our lives that sometimes we tend to forget the most important person. JESUS CHRIST duh! I mean he is the reason for the season. Although a lot of us are only here for the presents, a lot of us are here to celebrate Jesus. Jesus according to the church calendar was born December 25, many years ago. So we take this time to celebrate and honor him for who he is in our lives.


“All the Christmas presents in the world are worth nothing without the presence of Christ." -David Jeremiah


Growing up my family did not celebrate Christmas. I don't know the main reason why we didn't celebrate. I just knew every Christmas we were headed to Alabama for our annual church camp meeting. Christmas was not spent opening up presents, it was a normal day like any other day and that night we went to church. What I did know from what we were taught was Jesus was not born during Christmas and blah blah blah some other stuff. I never knew how to incorporate Jesus in anything to be honest while growing up.


It's not until I grew up and moved out of my parents house and got married when I really started to understand the meaning of Christmas. I really didn't get into the Advent spirit because Advent isn't something used or shared among the black families that I know of. It seems to be more of a tradition in the churches that are more predominantly white then black. But, being the neutral person I am I enjoy anything that glorifies Christ. So last year was the start of researching and gaining an understanding of what Advent is and why it's so big within the Christian faith. I'm actually following two advent bible plans on the bible app. As well as a few podcasts that usually goes into more details about what Advent is and how we bring Jesus more into our homes during this crazy fun filled holiday season.



Making Space by Susan Narjala and Advent: The Journey To Christmas by A Church Of The Highlands Devotional are both amazing bible app plans I've started.


I'm excited for this season because I really need Jesus in this season and all other seasons. I need Jesus every day of my life. But, being that Christmas is a season where we can loose sight of Christ because of all the activities surrounding Christmas; I'm making it my purpose to include him more. So that after Christmas I will have a dedicated plan and lifestyle to have more and more of Jesus.

bottom of page